Led to Follow God to Mountain-Moving Steps of Faith (October 7, 2013)

Mark 11:22-24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Have faith in God. I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen.  But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart.  I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours.”

The power of faith is an amazing thing.  Jesus tells us that our faith has the power to move a mountain.  Problems in our life can imitate an immovable mountain made of stubborn rocks and covered with obstacles like trees, dangerous animals and rushing waters.  It is useless to try to remove the mountain on our own.  God says that if we have faith, He will move it for us.  And, if He moves it, He has the ability to crush it and turn it into power that whisks away.  But we must have faith and no doubts.

“Sometimes we feel weak in the battle against the challenges of life because we become afraid and overwhelmed.  But if we will have faith in the power of God as our defender, and stand ready for battle, He will bring us to victory in a way that we will be certain it was not because of our own strength and power.”¹

[Read Job 34-42]

Job 37:15-16 “Do you know how God controls the storm and causes the lightning to flash from his clouds?  Do you understand how he moves the clouds with wonderful perfection and skill?”

Father God,
I know it is impossible to please You without faith.  I want to come to You believing that You are greater than all of my problems knowing that You can crush them under Your feet.  Help me take up the shield of faith.  Teach me to always pray without doubting. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 213

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

