Led to Follow God to an Intimate Day-By-Day Walk With Him (October 5, 2013)

Colossians 2:6-7 As you therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving.

The Holy Spirit leads us into a relationship with God.  The more time we spend with the Holy Spirit, the more time we will want to spend with him.  The Holy Spirit will work on our heart to keep us clean and holy before God.  It is our responsibility to follow the Spirit’s guidance and be obedient. We need to spend time reading and studying the Bible, praying, praising God and worshiping Him.  These activities cleanse and purify us and allow us to enter God’s presence.  If we want to develop an intimate relationship with God, we will work with the Holy Spirit and do what He tells us (or convicts us) to do, such as repenting of sin, forgiving others and asking for forgiveness when necessary.  We will change whatever we need to if the Holy Spirit says so.  We need to live a life we cannot live without God.

“”He wants you to live a life where you can accomplish things that could not  happen if He were not enabling you to do it–a life where you know that if He doesn’t come through for you, you are ruined.  And it seems scary to live that way.  But, actually, it is scarier to not live that way.  To live apart from His power, wisdom, and guidance is frightening.”¹

[Read Job 17-24]

Job 23:10-12 “But he knows where I am going.  And when he tests me, I will come out as pure gold.  For I have stayed on  God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside.  I have not departed from his commands, but have treasured his words more than daily food.”

Father God,
Draw me closer to You each day.  Purify my soul. Help me to be obedient.  I don’t want anything to separate us. I don’t want to live my life for myself, but only for You.  Help me to make spending time alone with You a priority I never neglect. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 207

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

