Led to Pray For As Long As It Takes (October 4, 2013)

Luke 18:1  He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart.

God always answers our prayers–either with a yes or a no–and not always immediately.  Sometimes He needs to prepare us for His answer.  If we pray for something and give up because the answer did not come in our time frame, we might miss out on the blessing God has for us.  We aren’t always ready to receive God’s answer.  Sometimes our hearts, minds and bodies need to submit to the leading of the Spirit to make changes in our life prior to receiving God’s answer.  If God answers no, don’t understand that to mean He doesn’t love us or care about us even if He’s provided for someone else that way.  It does mean, however, that He has something better planned.  How unfortunate it is when we give up in anger and frustration and miss the greatest blessing of all.  God’s “no” is hard to take, but if we submit and turn over to Him that dream and release it, He will replace it within something even greater.

“When you become discouraged, pray more.  When it seems as though God will never bring forth what you are seeking, refuse to give up.  When it appears as if nothing will ever happen, fast and pray again.”¹

[Read Job 9-16]

Job 9:14 “So who am I, that I should try to answer God or even reason with him?”

Father God,
Help me not give up praying when my prayers aren’t answered right away or exactly the way I prayed them.  Enable me to pray for so long as it takes for those things that are most dear to my heart.  Help me to release those things that are not Your will for me.  Show me the difference between the two. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 202

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

