Led to Pray For Others (October 1, 2013)

Ephesians 6:18 Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion.  Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

The Holy Spirit will lead you to pray for other people.  Don’t ignore the nudge of the Spirit pointing out a need to pray for someone.  If you are unsure how to pray, ask the Holy Spirit to reveal how you are to pray.  You may sometimes be led to pray for a stranger.  Don’t put aside those thoughts, but ask for the help of the Holy Spirit.  You may never know the results of your prayers, but God will notice your obedience and reward you.  People everywhere need prayer, so no prayer is ever wasted or useless.

Don’t forget to pray for those in authority over you even if you don’t agree with their decisions.  These people, leaders in our country, your boss, your pastor, make decisions that affect you.

“The list of people who affect your life is long, but don’t let that overwhelm you.  Ask the Holy Spirit to show you who affects your life right now–or will in the future–and needs your prayers.  You may not even realize who that might be until they Holy Spirit reveals it to you.  And you may never know what is at stake if you don’t pray.”¹

[Read Esther 1-5]

Esther 4:15-16 Then Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: “Go and gather together all the Jews of Susa and fast for me.  Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day.  My maids and I will do the same.  And then, though it is against the law, I will go in to see the king.  If I must die, I must die.”

Father God,
Help my prayers be powerful and effective for those I care about.  Bring to mind those who need special prayer.  Holy Spirit, lead me to pray according to God’s will.  No matter where I am make me aware of anyone who needs prayer.  I pray for all of those who affect my life.  Thank You for the privilege of praying for others. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 192

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Led to Pray For Others (October 1, 2013)

  1. Ian says:

    JPJ, great words. Prayer works, prayer is powerful, prayer changes the world.

    Well done, my prayer warrior friend.

Leave a Reply

