Led to Pray for the Burdens In My Heart (September 29, 2013)

James 4:2-3 You do not have because you do not ask.  You ask and do not receive, because you ask amiss, that you may spend it on your pleasures.

Prayer is he way we communicate with God.  It is how we live in relationship with Him.  In Philippians 4:6, Paul tells us to pray about everything.  That means we can tell God our deepest secrets, our deepest hurts, our deepest desires and He will listen and oftentimes offer us solutions, comfort, and peace.  In 1 Thessalonians 5:17, Paul tells us to never stop praying.  We are to stay in constant communication with God who never leaves or forsakes us.  He is always available to listen.  He won’t put us on hold or ask us to make an appointment.

If you struggle with prayer, begin by praising and worshiping God.  Tell Him of your struggle and ask for the Holy Spirit’s help whose job it is to teach us how to pray.  The Holy Spirit will help you pray when you don’t know what to say.  The privilege of prayer is something we should not take lightly but should not fear.

“When you pray, start with worship and then share the burdens on your heart.  They are a heavy weight that needs to be lifted.  Only after you have released those burdens to God can you fully move on to other important thins in peace.”¹

“Fervent prayer causes great things to happen.  Don’t be afraid when you are forced to pray fervently because of your circumstances.  God is wanting to do something great through you.”²

[Read Nehemiah 1-6]

Nehemiah 4:8-9 They all made plans to come and fight against Jerusalem and throw us into confusion.  But we prayed to our God and guarded the City day and night to protect ourselves.

Father God,
I praise and worship You because You are worthy of my adoration.  Thank You that You care about the burdens in my life.  I want to release them all to You.  Teach me how to pray with the leading of Your Holy Spirit so that I can fervently pray for what I believe is Your will.  Thank You in advance for the answers to these prayers.  As I wait, renew my strength and increase my faith. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 186

²Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 186

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

