Led to Discern God Protecting You (September 28, 2013

Philippians 4:19 My God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Sometimes God’s protection is obvious such as when we narrowly miss having an accident , or when we avoid something harmful because we hear and obey His voice warning us in our spirit.  Sometimes we may be unaware that God has protected us from something that would have caused us harm.  It is important for us to discern when God is protecting us so that we can thank Him and glorify His name.  God also protects us by providing for our needs.  I’m not talking about our wants although sometimes He blesses us in that way.  God wants us to know that He cares about us and if we seek Him in our time of need, He will come through for us.

“When you are in dire need, seek the leading of the Holy Spirit as to what to do.  He may show you what you already have that can be used as a solution to the problem.  Or He may do a new thing.  In order to prepare for a blessing from God, you must shut the door on doubt.  Don’t limit what God can do in your situation just because you can’t imagine it.  His reward may be in proportion to your faith and willingness to receive it.  Ask the Holy Spirit to help you discern His provision for you.”¹

[Read Ezra 6-10]

Ezra 8:21, 23 And there by the Ahava Canal, I gave orders for all of us to fast and humble ourselves before our God.  We prayed that he would give us a safe journey and protect us, our children and our goods as we traveled.  So we fasted and earnestly prayed that our God would take care of us, and he heard our prayer.

Father God,
Thank You for protecting me from the evil plans of the enemy.  Thank You for the many times You have protected me from unseen danger.  I ask for Your continued protection.  I also thank You that You supply all of my needs.  Thank You for all You will protect me from in the future. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) pp. 179-180

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

