Led to Discern God Blessing You (September 27, 2013)

Proverbs 10:22 The blessing of the Lord makes one rich, and he adds no sorrow with it.

God enjoys blessing us.  We may not realize it because it doesn’t come in the form we expect.  It can come in the form of nature like the beauty of a sunrise or sunset.  It may come during a visit with a friend.  It may be in disguise as something inconvenient but which ultimately has good results.  If we remain close to God and look closely for them, we will begin to hear and see His blessings all around us.

“Sometimes God will give to you special gifts in your day, and it is good to be able to recognize them.  Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal them to you.  God will speak to your heart in some way, even if only to say that He loves you.  When you can acknowledge a gift from Him in that way, you will receive the affirming, encouraging, and delightful blessing it is meant to be.”¹

[Read Ezra 1-5]

Ezra 3:11 With praise and thanks, they sang this song to the Lord: “He is so good! His faithful love for Israel endures forever!” Then all the people gave a great shout, praising the Lord because the foundation of the Lord’s Temple has been laid.

Father God,
Thank You for the many blessings you have given me in my life.  Give me discernment to see when a situation I think is inconvenient is really a blessing from You.  Help me be appreciative of all You do for me.  Give me discernment to recognize Your blessings.  Help me express my gratitude to You for all Your blessings in ways that please You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 174

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

