Led to Discern God’s Guiding You (September 26, 2013)

1 Corinthians 2:14-15 But people who aren’t spiritual can’t receive these truths from God’s Spirit.  It all sounds foolish to them and they can’t understand it, for only those who are spiritual can understand what the Spirit means.  Those who are spiritual can evaluate all things, but they themselves cannot be evaluated by others.

God has given us the Holy Spirit to guide us into all truth.  The Holy Spirit can help us discern those things that are of God and those that aren’t.  It’s not about doing something you feel is right.  It’s about having a peace in your heart that reveals a wise, godly choice.  Sometimes God guides us away from “good” things because they aren’t right for us.  He will never ever guide us toward something He has declared a sin, or against anything He tells us in His Word.  God will not contradict Himself.  Spend time in God’s Word, in prayer and fasting if you want to hear God’s voice.  Don’t rush into decisions without first checking with God.

“The way God may speak to your heart about certain decisions is often by the peace–or lack thereof–you have about it.  The best rule to follow is if you don’t have total peace about something, don’t make a decision until you do, one way or the other.  If you need to make a quick decision, however, ask God to show you immediately….And if you have been walking closely with the Lord, communicating with Him daily, asking for discernment and guidance, praying about everything, and staying in His Word, you will hear His voice speak to you even when you don’t have time to ask.”¹

[Read 2 Chronicles 28-36]

2 Chronicles 31:21 In all that he did in the service of the Temple of God and in his efforts to follow God’s laws and commands, Hezekiah sought his God wholeheartedly.  As a result, he was very successful.

Father God,
Give me the wisdom to see what I need to see.  Reveal to me Your will.  Keep me from believing a lie.  Give me discernment to know whether what I hear is from You or not.  Speak to my heart and lead me in every step I take.  Bring godly and wise advisers into my life who are guided by You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 172

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

