Led to Bear Good Fruit In Your Relationships (September 25, 2013)

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their labor.  For if they fall, one will lift up his companion.  But woe to him who is alone when he falls, for he has no one to help him up.

A fruitful relationship is one where both parties are willing to give and receive.  One person cannot play the role of God while the other keeps taking.  A relationship does not bear good fruit if either or both people demean, insult or criticize the other.  Good fruit is produced when there is a mutual respect, a willingness to give of themselves, and a  love for each other.  The best relationships are those in which you share a love for the Lord and agree on who God is.

“It is crucial to bear good fruit in your relationships.  You cannot carry on a relationship that takes you away from God, leads you to do wrong things, or causes you to have to shrink down from who God made you to be.  The best seeds to plant in any relationship are seeds of prayer, love, compassion, and giving of yourself.  In fact, the good fruit of any relationship comes from giving on both parts.”¹

[Read 2 Chronicles 18-27]

2 Chronicles 18:3-4 “Will you go with me to Ramoth-gilead?” King Ahab of Israel asked King Jehoshaphat of Judah.  Jehoshaphat replied, “Why, of course! You and I are as one, and my troops are your troops.  We will certainly join you in battle.”  Then Jehoshaphat added, “But first let’s find out what the Lord says.”

Father God,
Show me which relationships to cultivate and which ones to let go.  If I am in a relationship with someone that is not of you or is not producing good fruit, reveal it to me.  Send into my life godly relationships that will bring glory to You.  Help me to walk in the leadership of the Holy Spirit and not in the flesh.  Fill me afresh daily with Your Spirit and remove any selfishness on my part.  Lead me, Holy Spirit, to do the right thing in all of my relationships. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 162

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

