Led to Bear Good Fruit In Your Life (September 23, 2013)

John 15:5 “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches.  Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.”

In order to produce the right kind of fruit, we have to plant the right kind of seeds.  We must also allow the Holy Spirit to have full access to our life.  We must submit everything to Christ and release those seeds in us that produce bad fruit.  We must yield and submit to the pruning process that we must endure occasionally in order to thrive and continue producing good fruit. Though not enjoyable, the pruning process is necessary to remove certain attitudes, habits, possessions and goals that are not in line with God’s Will.  God wants to simplify our life in order to make it easier to follow Him. Sometimes we have to let things go to make room for better things.

“We don’t have to strive to produce good fruit in our lives.  We just have to stop planting bad seeds and learn to plant only the good ones.  We must walk daily with Jesus, remain in Him by following the leading of the Holy Spirit in us, stay in constant communication with Him, and more and more surrender our lives to His control.  This is not something we make happen.  It’s something we choose to let happen.”¹

[Read 2 Chronicles 1-9]

2 Chronicles 6:14 He prayed, “O Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like you in all of heaven and earth.  You keep your covenant and show unfailing love to all who walk before you in wholehearted devotion.”

Father God,
Help me bear good fruit in my life. Search my heart and reveal to me any bad seeds that need to be cast out.  I submit to your pruning process.  Help me let go of anything in my heart or my life that doesn’t belong there.  Keep me from pride. I pray that the fruit of the Spirit will be manifested in me so powerfully that others will notice and glorify You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 156

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

