Led to See Purpose in God’s Call on Your Life (September 22, 2013)

Romans 11:29 For God’s gifts and his call can never be withdrawn.

Everyone has a calling and a purpose for their lives.  Some people will know what it is based on their talent and interests.  Others will have to dig deep, ask God to reveal it and trust that He will show them.  Regardless of how you discover what your calling is, there are several important things you need to remember when God calls you:

  1. God will equip you.  You won’t be asked to do anything without the Holy Spirit’s help.
  2. God will refine you.  The fire of the Holy Spirit will remove all the impurities from our heart and allow us to operate with humility and love.
  3. God will give you peace.  You may not know the details about the future, but you will not have anything to fear.
  4. God will give you a heart to pursue His purpose.  This will only happy if you surrender to Him completely and seek Him.
  5. God will provide the Holy Spirit to enable you to succeed.  God wants us to depend on Him completely.  He wants us to realize we can do nothing without Him.
  6. God’s enemy will try to prevent you from doing what God has called you to do.

“Always confront the lies of the enemy with the truth of God’s Word.  Trust the leading of the Holy Spirit in your heart more than the voice of your enemy threatening you.  Be careful to always live consistently with what God has called you to do.”¹

[Read 1 Chronicles 22-29]

1 Chronicles 22:11-13 “Now, my son, may the Lord be with you and give you success as you follow his directions in building the Temple of the Lord your God.  And may the Lord give you wisdom and understanding, that you may obey the law of the Lord your God as you rule over Israel.  For you will be successful if you carefully obey the decrees and regulations that the Lord gave to Israel through Moses.  Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid or lose heart!”

Father God,
Open my eyes to see what I need to about my calling.  Open my ears to hear Your voice leading me.  Prepare and equip me for my calling.  Help me fulfill all of the requirements of my calling.  Help me to submit to the refining process.  Help me recognize the ploys of the enemy to discourage me and keep me from fulfilling my calling.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 149

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

