Led to See Purpose in the Gifts God Has Put In You (September 21, 2013)

1 Corinthians 12:4-7 There are different kinds of spiritual gifts, but the same Spirit is the source of them all.  There are different kinds of service, but we serve the same Lord.  God works in different ways, but it is the same God who does the work in all of us.  A spiritual gift is given to each of us so we can help each other.

Everyone receives a gift or gifts from God so they can pursue His purpose in their lives.  If you don’t know what your gift is, you can ask God to reveal it to you.  In order to be successful, you must rely on the Holy Spirit not on your own abilities.  God also gives us spiritual gifts He uses in our lives for His purpose.  We should desire them as a way to help others rather than ourselves.  We cannot force or manipulate them and God is not going to force them on us.

“While it’s true that we all have gifts, those gifts will not bear the fruit God wants them to without our submission to the Holy Spirit.  He is our Helper who enables us to do what God calls us to do.  We all have abilities we are born with, and we need to identify and nurture those gifts and talents and develop them to be used for the Lord.  Ask the Holy Spirit to lead you in the discovery and recognition of your gifts.”¹

[Read 1 Chronicles 15-21]

1 Chronicles 16:29 Give to the Lord the glory he deserves!  Bring your offering and come into his presence. Worship the Lord in all his holy splendor.

Father God,
I pray that you will reveal the gifts and abilities You have given me.  Develop these gifts and abilities in me so I can be useful in Your kingdom.  Thank You for the gifts You have entrusted to me.  Help me stay connected to You through the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 140

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

