Led to Be Transformed In Your Character (September 19, 2013)

2 Peter 1:4 And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises.   These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.

Our character is who we are on the inside displayed on the outside.  Some have said it is who we are when nobody’s watching.  When we accept Christ and receive the Holy Spirit, our character should shift from being selfish and of the world to being selfless.  If you are a Christian and you have seen no change in your character defects, then you aren’t acknowledging the Holy Spirit’s power to change you.  God has commanded us to be holy; therefore, we can be holy through the power of the Holy Spirit.  If you have not seen changes in your character, ask for help from the Holy Spirit and let Him have control.

“Your new self chooses to live in distinct contrast to everything that is opposed to the Lord.  You no longer choose to walk in the futility the rest of the world walks in, having no understanding about life, living in a manner that is not of the Lord, and being alienated from His purpose for your life.  You no longer have a mind that is ignorant of God’s truth, nor a heart that chooses to be oblivious to it…You have greater confidence about the future because you know that the Holy Spirit dwells in you and you are the Lord’s forever.  You become aware of what grieves His Spirit, so you refuse to do anything that will cause Him to be grieved.”¹

[Read 1 Chronicles 1-7]

1 Chronicles 4:9-10 There was a man named Jabez who was more honorable than any of his brothers.  His mother named him Jabez because his birth had been so painful.  He was the only one who prayed to the God of Israel.  “Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory.  Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain!” And God granted him his request.

Father God,
I want to be holy as You are holy.  I am requesting that the Holy Spirit transform my character as only He can do.  Thank You for giving the Holy Spirit to me to help me become more like Christ in everything I do.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 131

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

