Led to Be Transformed In Your Emotions (September 18, 2013)

Phillippians 4:6-7 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Our emotions can destroy us.  When we act on our negative emotions instead of allowing the Holy Spirit to act in and through us, we can become bitter, resentful, angry, filled with distrust, which can cause pain not only to ourselves but others as well.  God cares about us no matter what He knows when we are grieving.  He knows when we are angry, bitter and resentful.  He knows and He cares.  The truth is that we can control our emotions by filling our minds with the truth of God’s Word.  We can choose to entertain positive emotions rather than negative ones.  WE think emotions are a part of who we are and can’t be changed, but the truth is that the Holy Spirit can free us and lead us away from negative emotions.

“We all love the familiar and distrust the unfamiliar.  The unfamiliar, or the unknown, can be frightening.  There are many people who will stay in a negative situation because it is familiar, rather than go where there is a promise of something good, because that would be unfamiliar.  We have to get to the point where we become so familiar with the presence of God’s Spirit that anything less feels foreign.  We must walk so closely with the Lord that we feel most comfortable in His presence and uncomfortable when we are not.”¹

[Read 2 Kings 17-25]

2 Kings 17:39 “You must worship only the Lord your God.  He is the one who will rescue you from all your enemies.”

Father God,
I pray that You will transform my heart so I can quit learning on my feelings and emotions that are paralyzing me and limiting my life.  Break the control my emotions have on me and fill me with Your Spirit of love, peace and joy.  Crowd out everything in me that is not of You and renew a right spirit within me. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 129

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

