Led to Be Transformed In Your Mind (September 17, 2013)

Ephesians 4:22-24 throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception.  Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes.  Put on your new nature, created to be like God–truly righteous and holy.

Each time we spend time in God’s presence we are transformed.  The more time we spend with Him, the more we become like Him.  We cannot be the person God created us to be without transforming our mind to become like His.  The Holy Spirit will renew your mind and transform it to the mind of Christ.  Our old nature wants us to focus on the things of this world.  It wants to keep us focused on past hurts so we will be  unforgiving and not find peace.  It wants us to focus on our present circumstances so we doubt God’s provision.  It wants us to focus on the future and its uncertainty so we will spend our time worrying and in fear.  But the Holy Spirit living in us will keep our minds focused on God so that we will put our past behind us, let God handle our present circumstances, and place the future in His hands.

“Your mind affects more than you think.  It can keep you in darkness even when you have the light.  It can keep you in old habits and patterns of thought and far from all God has for you.  It is with your mind that you reason, understand, and make decisions.  It is in your mind when you decide to be good or evil.  When your mind is controlled by the Holy Spirit, you have peace, contentment, and rest.”¹

[Read 2 Kings 9-16]

2 Kings 12:2 All his life Joash did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight because Jehoiada the priest instructed him.

Father God,
I pray that You will renew and transform my mind.  I know that the transformation of my mind will mean the transformation of my entire life.  Show me anything that is in my mind that is not of You.  Enable me to recognize the lies of the enemy that I am accepting as truth.  I pray that the mind of Christ will crowd out anything that is not of You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 124

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

