Led to Be Separate From All that Draws You Away From God (September 16, 2013)

Deuteronomy 10:12-13 “And now, Israel, what does the Lord your God require of you? He requires only that you fear the Lord your God, and live in a way that pleases him, and love him and serve him with all your heart and soul.  And you must always obey the Lord’s commands and decrees that I am giving you today for your own good.”

God desires that we put Him first above all things and people.  There are many things, even good things, that can come between us and God.  God tells us that if something comes between us and our relationship with Him, we need to rid ourselves of it.  Spending too much time on the Internet to the exclusion of God, trying to please others rather than God, working to make more money solely for our use–these are things we put before  God.  Sometimes we have “godly” reasons for doing those things, but if we aren’t spending time with God, they are all worthless.

“Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to you anything in your life that draws you away from the Lord.  He will begin to open your eyes to whatever wastes your valuable time and energy for no earthly benefit.”¹

[Read 2 Kings 1-8]

2 Kings 2:9-10 When they came to the other side, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me what I can do for you before I am taken away.” And Elisha replied, “Please let me inherit a double portion of your spirit and become your successor.” “You have asked a difficult thing,” Elijah replied.  “If you see me when I am taken from you, then you will get your request.  But if not, then you won’t.”

Father God,
Help me separate myself from anything that draws me away from You.  I don’t want to waste time and effort on things that have no value in my life.  Help me recognize the distractions that compromise who you have called me to be.  Enable me to give up those things and attitudes that keep me from serving You.  Help me establish right priorities.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 119

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

