Led to Be Separate From All Pride (September 15, 2013)

2 Timothy 3:22 For people will love only themselves and their money.  They will be boastful and proud, scoffing at God, disobedient to their parents, and ungrateful.  They will consider nothing sacred.

The Holy Spirit will lead you away from pride, but Satan will always try to lure you into being prideful.  Even if you think it will never happen, it is always a possibility.  All Satan has to do is get you to start thinking about how good you are, how much others depend on you or how no one can get along without you.  Pride will ruin your life.

“No matter how faithful you think you are, anyone can succumb to pride.  Even though you are not a prideful person, an evil spirit of pride can put prideful thoughts in your mind.  It can happen before you know it…Refuse to think that the good things happening to you are all because of you.  Give God the glory for every blessing and success you have.”¹

[Read 1 Kings 12-22]

1 Kings 19:10 Elijah replied, “I have zealously served the Lord God Almighty.  But the people of Israel have broken their covenant with you, torn down your altars, and killed every one of your prophets.  I am the only one left, and now they are trying to kill me, too!”

Father  God,
Thank You for everything you’ve ever done for me.  I praise You for every blessing You have given me.  I know all good things come from You.  Forgive me for ever taking credit for things You have done. Keep me from entertaining pride in my heart.  Help me recognize the enemy’s tactics and keep me humble. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 114

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

