Led to Be Separate From the Past (September 14, 2013)

Mark 11:25 “But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.”

You cannot function well if you are carrying your past with you.  If you want to move past bitterness and resentment, you must work on forgiving those who hurt you and put it behind you.  Leave the past in the past and move on. God says in His Word that if you don’t forgive others, He won’t forgive you.  Keep the lines of communication open between you and God by forgiving those who have wronged you.  In addition, seek forgiveness and reconciliation from those you have hurt.

“Not forgiving won’t take away your salvation, but it will take away your peace.  It will hinder your intimacy with God and halt your journey into wholeness.  Refusing to forgive is torturous and too much for you to bear.  It takes a toll on your body as well as your mind and emotions.  When you have unforgiveness toward someone, it binds you to them and keeps you in the past with them.  You are never free of them or the memory of what happened until you forgive.”¹

[Read 1 Kings 1-11]

1 Kings 3:9 “Give me an understanding heart so that I can govern your people well and know the difference between right and wrong.  For who by himself is able to govern this great people of yours?”

Father God,
Help me separate myself from my past.  You have set me free from it so there is no need for me to carry it with me.  Reveal to me anyone I have failed or refused to forgive and give me the ability to forgive them and put the wrong behind me.  Lead me, Holy Spirit, into the light of forgiveness, so that I am not stumbling in the dark. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 111

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

