Led to Be Separate From All Temptation (September 13, 2013)

Matthew 26:41 “Keep watch and pray, so that you will not give in to temptation.  For the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak!”

In order to resist temptation, we must stay alert, read the Bible daily, pray continually and never doubt God.  Satan knows if he keeps us busy doing good we will set aside our quiet time, postpone prayer and get weary.  All we have to do to worship Satan is to start putting ourselves first, convinced that we are more important than being obedient to God in that moment.  Unfortunately, God doesn’t remove temptation when we become Christians.  God wants to know if we will choose Him over our desires.  He also wants us to know this, too.

“Anything you put above God in your life is an idol–including your wants, desires, and selfish requests.  Ask God to keep you from entertaining any thoughts that give place to even the slightest suggestions of temptation.  It is deadly.  Let the Holy Spirit empower you to run the other way!¹

[Read 2 Samuel 17-24]

2 Samuel 22:36-37 “You have given me your shield of victory; your help has made me great.  You have made a wide path for my feet to keep them from slipping.”

Father God,
Lead me away from anything that has the potential to take me off the path you have for me.  If it is not your best for me, I do not want it in my life.  I choose to trust in You, not myself.  Help me be wise and stay separate from anything that tempts me away from you.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) pp. 108-109

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

