Led to Be Separate From the Enemy (September 12, 2013)

Ephesians 5:15-16 So be careful how you live.  Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days.

 Satan likes to set traps.  One of the ways he does that is by telling us lies—lies so subtle that we are bound to believe them.  However, if we have the Holy Spirit inside of us and take the time to listen, we will recognize the enemy’s lies and refuse to act on them.  When we are confronted with something that we are unsure about, we should always seek God’s guidance before we respond.  Even if we are unaware of supporting the enemy’s cause, we will still be guilty and suffer the consequences.  Satan brought Jesus to the top of a mountain to show Him what he would give Him if Jesus would bow down and worship him.  However, Jesus knew the truth about Himself and the truth about Satan.

 “Satan will come to you and show you things he says you should have or could do.  But you must remember who you are and what your purpose is and resist him the way Jesus did.  You must recognize who Satan is and that his plan for your life is to deceive, rob, kill, and destroy you.”¹

[Read 2 Samuel 9-16]

2 Samuel 16:23 Absalom followed Ahithophel’s advice, just as David had done.  For every word Ahithophel spoke seemed as though it had come directly from the mouth of God.

 Father God,
Help me recognize the lies and tactics of Satan so that I will not aid or abet him in any way.  Reveal his lies to me in whatever form they take.  Show me what I need in order to separate myself from evil.  Thank You for leading me toward You and away from the enemy.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 104

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

