Led to Be Separate From All Sin (September 10, 2013)

Deuteronomy 5:33 “Stay on the path that the Lord your God has commanded you to follow.  Then you will live long and prosperous lives in the land you are about to occupy.”

The Holy Spirit convicts us when we are disobedient and sin.  He also gives us a warning when the temptation to sin comes so that we can avoid it.  As long as we listen to Him, we will keep him active in our life.  But if we continue to push Him aside and refuse to listen and obey, we will grieve Him to the point that He will leave us.  When all is going well in our lives is when we are most susceptible to sin.  When we think we are infallible, our pride will bring us down hard.  Sin separates us from God.  God doesn’t hear our prayers if we continue to walk in disobedience.

“Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any sin in your life before He has to convict you of it.  If He reveals something to you, confess and humbly repent of it so you can be forgiven and cleansed.  Any sin you give place to–even in your thoughts–will pollute your mind and body and make you miserable anyway, so give it up.  It’s not worth it.”¹

[Read 1 Samuel 25-31]

1 Samuel 25:29 “Even when you are chased by those who seek to kill you, your life is safe in the care of the Lord your God, secure in his treasure pouch! But the lives of your enemies will disappear like stones shot from a sling!”

Father God,
Help me separate myself from all sin.  I pray that I will always hear the Holy Spirit speaking to my heart.  I never want to grieve the Holy Spirit.  Keep me from saying, doing or thinking anything that is in rebellion against You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 97

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

