Led to Worship Him With the Holy Spirit’s Help (September 8, 2013)

John 4:23-24 “But the time is coming–indeed it’s here now–when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth.  The Father is looking for those who will worship him that way.  For God is Spirit, so those who worship him must worship in spirit and in truth.”

Even though we receive the Holy Spirit at the same time we accept Jesus as our Savior, we need the special outpouring of the Spirit for access to Jesus’ power.  God doesn’t give gifts to those who don’t want them, so we must want the Spirit.  The Holy Spirit leads us into proper worship.  He does not and will never lead us to complain.  Remember how God reacted when the Israelites grumbled and complained against Him in the wilderness?  At worst, He sent fiery serpents to kill them.   At best, He made them wander the desert for an additional 40 years.  If we desire to truly worship God, we will seek to be filled with the Holy Spirit, and we will turn our troubles and concerns over to God who is more capable than we are to take care of them.

“The Holy Spirit–the seal of God’s approval of you–enables you to have an ever-deepening relationship with God.  The Holy Spirit guides you not only when you pray, but also when you worship Him.  He is your source of power so you can accomplish what you could never do without Him.  He gives your life meaning and purpose.  He illuminates God’s Word.  He guides you ever step of your walk with God.”¹

[Read 1 Samuel 9-16]

1 Samuel 10:6 “At that time the Spirit of the Lord will come powerfully upon you, and you will prophesy with them.  You will be changed into a different person.”

Father God,
Thank You for the gift of the Holy Spirit who leads me into worship.  Give me the special outpouring of the Spirit so that I may have the same power Jesus had when He worshiped You.  Help me always remember to bring my troubles and concerns to You instead of complaining.  I want to desire You above everything else.  Cleanse me of all ungodliness and make me a pure vessel so I can worship You in the holiness You have called me to.  Remove from me the spirit of complaining so that I can truly honor You with my praise and worship. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 86

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

