Led to Worship Him With Your Whole Heart (September 7, 2013)

Jeremiah 29:13-14 If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. “I will be found by you,” says the Lord.  “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes.  I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

Praising and worshiping God is not for God’s benefit, it is for ours.  It removes us from a throne of our own making and puts God on His throne.  The more we praise and worship God, the closer we will become to Him.  We are to praise and worship God daily with words and song as well as how we live our lives.  A weekly dose of praise and worship will never be enough to build a relationship.

A whole heart is one that is not divided.  It doesn’t worship two things at once.  In fact, it can’t.  We talk of multi-tasking –doing many things at once.  But, in reality, we aren’t multi-tasking so much as creating a jumbled up mess.  God doesn’t want to be  a part of a jumbled up mess in our heart.  He wants to have sole ownership (or soul ownership).  When He takes possession of our heart, He gives us freedom from the captivity of sin and blessings He has stored up for us.

“It’s not hard to find reasons to praise God, but it can be hard to make ourselves worship Him as often and as wholeheartedly as we should.  That is why we need to be fully led by the Holy Spirit.  He will always lead us toward worship.  It is you who determines how much of your heart goes into it.  He wants you to worship Him because that positions you to be able to receive all the blessings.”¹

[Read 1 Samuel 1-8]

1 Samuel 2:2 “No one is holy like the Lord!  There is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.”

Father God,
I don’t want to be a half-hearted worshipper of You.  Teach me to worship You with my whole heart.  I want my worship to reflect a total and true reverence for You.  Teach me how to worship You with my whole heart.  Reveal to me what may be holding me back from giving You all the praise and worship You deserve.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 83

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lead Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

