Led to Hear God’s Will For Your Life (September 6, 2013)

Ephesians 5:17 Do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

One of the purposes of the Holy Spirit is to lead us to God’s will.  It is our responsibility to be obedient.  God has given us free will to choose our will over His, but only when we choose the path He has marked for us will we experience His blessings.  When we truly desire to follow God, He will close doors leading us the wrong way and open those that follow His way.  When we follow God’s direction, we will have peace of mind and be blessed beyond measure.  When we follow our own map, we, as well as others, will suffer the consequences.

“Learning to hear the voice of God is crucial to staying in the will of God.  And don’t think for a moment that it’s not possible to hear God.  If the devil can tell you to do something wrong, God can certainly tell you to do something right.  And the Holy Spirit will give you the ability to know the difference.”¹

[Read Ruth 1-4]

Ruth 1:16-17 But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back.  Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live.  Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.  Wherever you die, I will die, and there will I be buried.  May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!”

Father God,
Thank You that I am able to know Your will.  Enable me to hear Your voice and to follow You so closely that I never walk in rebellion.  Keep me from stubbornly holing on to my own desires and teach me not to be concerned with the esteem of men but to please You.  Give me wisdom to understand Your will for my life.  I surrender my will to Yours, Lord.  Lead me, Holy Spirit, on the right path. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 73

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

