Led to Hear God’s Voice to Your Heart (September 4, 2013)

Acts 2:17 ‘In the last days,’ God says,
                   ‘I will pour out my Spirit upon all
                      people.
                    Your sons and daughters will prophesy.
                         Your young men will see visions,
                    and your old men will dream dreams.’

In 2 Chronicles 34-35, we learn about King Josiah, a good king who trusted and obeyed God until the day he failed to listen to God’s warning not to go to war with the King of Egypt and died in battle.  When God speaks to us, He is very specific.  He doesn’t leave us guessing about what we are to do or NOT do.  Of course, we should always weigh what we hear with Scripture, but God will never be vague or give you a choice other than deciding between obedience and disobedience.

When we are obedient, God will trust us with His words again and the more we obey, the more He will speak to us.  When we disobey, not only do we receive God’s discipline, we also will struggle to hear His voice again.  This is why it is important to learn to listen for God’s voice in whatever form it takes–a word in your spirit, a word from Scripture, a word from a friend or from whatever source God chooses.  It is also important not to limit God to a particular voice.

“Ask God to help you hear His voice to your heart so you won’t miss what He wants to tell you.  Shut out the noise and distractions around you.  Ask Him to silence any anxieties within you.  God may be wanting to speak to you right now about something very specific.”¹

[Read Judges 8-14]

Judges 13:12-13 So Manoah asked him, “When your words come true, what kind of rules should govern the boy’s life and work?” The angel of the Lord replied, “Be sure your wife follows the instructions I gave her.”

Father God,
Help me hear and recognize Your voice when You speak to me.  I know You care even about the smallest details of my life, so I ask You for understanding when You give me specific instructions.  Don’t let me move on something before I know what You are leading me to do. I don’t want to do anything without seeking guidance from You first.  Lead me to the right path.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 61

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

