Led to Hear God’s Word In Your Mind (September 3, 2013)

John 14:21 “Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me.  And because they love me, my Father will love them.  And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.”

It is important to read God’s Word daily.  It keeps us God-focused and helps us remember God’s instructions which guide us with wisdom.  When we stay in God’s Word, we are better able to distinguish His voice from the lying spirits.  When we know what is in God’s Word, we also know what is NOT.  Reading the Bible makes us better.  The Holy Spirit in us will lead us into understanding and help us hear what God intends.  It is important to read the Bible all the way through many times as well as memorizing portions of it.  If you listen carefully, each time you do, you will learn something different about God, about yourself, and about what He wants for your life.

“When you become so familiar with God’s Word that you hear it in your mind and He speaks to you from Scripture, then you will begin to hear His voice speaking to your heart at other times.  There will also be promptings to your spirit by His Spirit, and you will learn to identify them as such.  Hearing God communicate to you in these ways guides you in your walk with Him and helps you understand His will for your life.”¹

[Read Judges 1-7]

Judges 6:14-16 Then the Lord turned to him and said, “Go with the strength you have, and rescue Israel from the Midianites.  I am sending you!”  “But Lord,” Gideon replied, “how can I rescue Israel?  My clan is the weakest in the whole tribe of Manasseh, and I am the least in my entire family!” The Lord said to him, “I will be with you.  And you will destroy the Midianites as if you were fighting against one man.”

Father God,
Thank You for giving us Your Word and for the Holy Spirit who gives us understanding and knowledge.  I pray that the Holy Spirit will bring Your Word alive in my heart and mind every time I read it.  Help me to retain what I read in Your Word. Prepare me with Your Word so that I am equipped to do all that You have called me to do. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 58

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

