Led to Be Filled With His Love and Hope (September 2, 2013)

Romans 5:5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment.  For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

When we are filled with the Holy Spirit, we operate out of love.  Everything we do for others is done because we love God and God loves them.  Each day we must ask for a fresh filling of the Spirit in order to show others the love of God.  Doing good out of obligation doesn’t allow others to see God’s love.  Without love, there is no hope.  The only way we can change is to have God’s love in our heart.  It’s the only way to change the heart of others as well.

“Being filled with the Holy Spirit means you have access to the love of God.  Opening up to the flow of His love in you opens your heart so that His love can flow through you to others.  The love of God then begins to guide and motivate your actions, thoughts, and words so that it forms your character to become more like the Lord.  The love of God in you changes everything.  It evaporates the negatives and enlarges the positives.”¹

[Read Joshua 17-24]

Joshua 22:5 “But be very careful to obey all the commands and the instructions that Moses gave to you.  Love the Lord your God, walk in all his ways, obey his commands, hold firmly to him, and serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.”

Father God,
I thank You and praise You for your love.  Help me to understand the depth of Your love so I can be an example to others.  I open my heart to receive Your love into my life. I surrender myself to You so that You can fill me deeper with Your love.  Help me surrender my body, soul and mind to the Holy Spirit.  Help me see others through Your eyes so that I can love them as You do.  Motivate me by Your love in everything I do.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 53

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

