Led to Be Filled With His Power and Might (August 30, 2013)

Matthew 3:11 “I baptize with water those who repent of their sins and turn to God.  But someone is coming soon who is greater than I am–so much greater that I’m not worthy even to be his slave and carry his sandals.  He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire.”

You have a calling.  God created you for a purpose.  He has given you talents and gifts that will help you fulfill your purpose and calling.  In addition, He offers you the gift of the Holy Spirit dwelling in you that gives you the power you need to be successful in what God has called you to do, but if you don’t accept this gift, or if you abuse it, whatever you try will fail.

God’s calling on our lives is impossible without the help of the Holy Spirit in our lives.  We need the help of the Spirit not only to fulfill our calling but also to guide us into right living, remind us of who and whose we are and empower and enable us to become like Christ.

Some people abuse the Spirit by demanding healing now, or empowering now.  They treat Him like their slave forgetting how to approach Him–with humility, seeking His face, and surrendering to His authority.

“God wants you to understand the working of His Spirit in your life.  He knows what is best for you, and that’s why He wants you to acknowledge Him, desire to know Him better, long to hear Him, and learn to follow Him.  But you cannot do all this without the power of His Holy Spirit manifesting Himself in your life.  You must desire it in order to serve God and do His will.”¹

[Read Deuteronomy 29-34]

Deuteronomy 31:6 So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them.  For the Lord your God will personally go ahead of you. He will neither fail you or abandon you.

Father God,
Thank You for the gift of Your Holy Spirit.  I pray for a fresh filling of Your Spirit today–greater than I have ever known.  Holy Spirit, I thank You for Your power and might on my behalf.  Keep my heart pure and my mind free of impurities that lead to sin.  Help me be a vessel for You to do what needs to be done through me. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) pp. 43-44

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

