Led to Receive the Inheritance Laid Up For You As God’s Child (August 29, 2013)

Galatians 4:7 Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child.  And since you are his child, God has made you his heir.

Once we accept Jesus as our Savior, we are assured of our inheritance as a child of God.  Our assurance is the Holy Spirit dwelling in us.  In order for us to receive our inheritance, Jesus had to die.  When we die, as part of our inheritance, we will get to spend eternity with Him in Heaven.   Jesus is, at this very moment, preparing a mansion for those who have believed and accepted Him as their Savior.

But we also have an inheritance here on Earth.  We receive His provision, protection, deliverance and much more.  But we have to know it’s there and take possession of it.

“We just have to know the truth about what is possible for us and what to do to make it happen in our lives.  When you know what the truth is, and you know what the promise is, and you understand what your inheritance is, you can press in harder than you might normally do in order to receive what has already been provided for you.”¹

[Read Deuteronomy 22-28]

Deuteronomy 26:18-19 “The Lord has declared today that you are his people, his own special treasure, just as he promised, and that you must obey all his commands.  And if you do, he will set you high above all the other nations he has made.  Then you will receive praise, honor, and renown.  You will be a nation that is holy to the Lord your God, just as he promised.”

Father God,
I thank You for the inheritance You have given me as Your child.  I thank You that I am a joint heir with Christ.  Help me to understand what my inheritance is and how to possess it.  Teach me what I need to understand Your Word.  Reveal things I’ve never seen and bring them alive to me.  Thank You, Jesus, for the mansion You are preparing for me in Heaven.  Reveal Yourself to me in new ways.  Help me open up to all You have in store for me.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 34

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

