Led to Receive the Promise of God’s Spirit In You (August 27, 2013)

Ephesians 5:18 Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life.  Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit.

Everyone who accepts Jesus as their Savior receives the Holy Spirit.  Jesus described Him to His disciples as a Helper and a Comforter.  The Holy Spirit guides us to right living, comforts us when we are grieving, encourages us when we are down and teaches us about God the Father.  Without the Holy Spirit, we would be unable to live a godly life, grow into the image of Christ, or be God’s hands and feet in the world.  As Believers, we always have the Holy Spirit within us, but we must be continually filled in order to have all God has for us.

“The Holy Spirit doesn’t wear out, wear off, or wear down, but God wants you to seek a greater infilling of His Spirit initially, and then seek Him for a fresh filling of His Spirit whenever you want it… Wherever you go you take Him with  you.  The more you welcome Him, the more you will receive from Him, the more you will be led by Him, and the more you and the world around you will be touched by Him.”¹

[Read Deuteronomy 8-14]

Deuteronomy 8:22 “Be careful to obey all these commands I am giving you.  Show love for the Lord your God by walking in his ways and holding tightly to him.”

Father God,
I ask for a great outpouring of Your Spirit in me.  Teach me those things You want me to know from Your Word.  Help me hear the leading of Your Spirit so I know the way to go.  I thank You that You are always with me.  I want to know You better each day so please fill me afresh each morning.  Keep me from those things that grieve You.  I don’t want to hinder Your work in me.  Help me become sensitive to Your leading.  Move powerfully in me so that I can touch the lives of others for the sake of the Kingdom. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 26

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

