Let God Define Good (August 22, 2013)

Romans 8:28 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to his purpose.

Life doesn’t always go our way.  It’s often difficult and sometimes hands us things that bring us to our knees.  We wonder why bad things happen to good people, and vice versa.  We may feel like Peter did when Jesus spoke of His death.  I can only imagine the confusion Peter felt when Jesus reprimanded him.  After all, Peter could not see the end result.  What good can possibly come from tragedy?  It’s all in how we define good.  God is the only One who knows how everything turns out.

Some people are experiencing, or have experienced, horrible things.  It is difficult, if not impossible, to see God’s loving hand in them.  I am praying for some people right now who are going through the death of a spouse or a child.  I can’t see the good that could possibly come of it, but God does.  He knows their pain.  He knows your pain.  And He is waiting to hold you in His arms and comfort you.

“God does not lie.  He is honest, and He is clear.  His voice is not muffled.  Jesus used [teachable moments] to further expound on the requirement necessary to hear, understand, and follow His voice.  In order to have your mind on the things of God, you must also have your heart set on the things of God.  And in order to have your heart set on the things of God, you must deny yourself, take up your cross, and follow Jesus.”¹

[Read Leviticus 19-27]

Leviticus 20:7-8 So set yourselves apart to be holy, for I am the Lord your God.  Keep all my decrees by putting them into practice, for I am the Lord who makes you holy.

Father God,
Your definition of good differs from mine.  I see good as life being easy and less difficult, but you see good as a result of what we go through.  I have heard lots of testimonies from people who have lived through tragedy who proclaim Your goodness and tell of the good that arose from the ashes of their pain.  It is hard to understand, but even so I will trust and put my faith in You. Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013)
p. 173

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

