God is Bigger Than This (August 21, 2013)

Isaiah 40:28-29 Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.  He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.  He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.

God’s ways are not our ways.  He gives and takes away.  He disciplines us by not removing the consequences of our actions.  He sometimes gives us a “thorn in the flesh” to keep us from becoming prideful.  We want something done one way, but God has other plans–plans that will grow us and our faith, plans that will transform the way we live our lives.

There is comfort in knowing that God is bigger than we can comprehend.  He can do what we cannot.  When God makes a promise, He will move heaven and earth to fulfill it.  Our part is to wait, trust and prepare.  The movie, “Facing the Giants”, teaches that when we pray for rain, we had better prepare for it in the meantime.  What good is it if we pray for something God wants to give us, when we aren’t prepared to receive it?

“There is a certain amount of peace in knowing we cannot completely wrap our human minds and hearts around the depths of God.  There is a certain amount of comfort in understanding that although God draws near to us and beckons us to draw near to Him, He is not completely attainable.
God remains larger.
God remains beyond our understanding and certainly beyond manageable.
Try as we may, we cannot reel Him in.  We cannot ‘harness’ Him.  Not through prayer, not through worship, not through service, not in any way.”¹

[Read Leviticus 10-18]

Leviticus 11:45 “For I, the Lord, am the one who brought you up from the land of Egypt, that I might be your God.  Therefore, you must be holy because I am holy.”

Father God,
You are indescribable.  No matter how hard I try, there are no words that contain a complete description of who You are and how You work in my life.  You love me.  You provide for me. You gave up Your Son in order to give me eternal life.  Thank You for this incredible gift.  You could have thrown up Your hands in desperation when I messed up, but You love me so much that You forgive my transgressions when I confess my sins and You forget them.  You are bigger than any obstacle I will face.  I will remind myself of this daily. Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013)
p. 157

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

