Where was God when the Disciples were in the boat? (August 19, 2013)

Mark 4:35-37 As evening came, Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.” So they took Jesus in the boat and started out, leaving the crowds behind (although other boats would follow).  But soon a fierce storm came up.  High waves were breaking into the boat, and it began to fill with water.

We sometimes get caught up in wrong theology–like when you become a Christian, your life gets easier.  Or, when you are obeying God, He won’t allow bad things to happen.  We don’t take into account the Enemy, Satan, who does not, under any circumstances, want us to fulfill our mission.  God will sometimes invite us into the boat, an unstable place that rocks with the waves with the possibility of overturning in the right circumstances.  When a storm hits, a boat can be a very dangerous place.

When Jesus asked the Disciples to get into the boat, He not only knew the dangers they would face, He also got into the boat with them.  When they cried out to Him, He commanded the winds and the waves to be still.  He followed this with two questions in v. 40– “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

When God is the One who puts you in the boat, nothing will keep you from your destination.  When Jesus told the Disciples to get into the boat, He got right in there wit them.

“Jesus told His disciples they were going to the other side.  If Jesus told you that you are headed to the other side, there’s not a storm fierce enough to keep you away!  You’re gonna make it. Whatever waves are tossing your boat, those waves will not do you in.  Jesus will see you through.”¹

[Read Exodus 31-40]

Exodus 33:13-14 “If it is true that you look favorably on me, let me know your ways so I may understand you more fully and continue to enjoy your favor.  And remember that this nation is your very own people.”  The Lord replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest–everything will be fine for you.”

Father God,
Sometimes I have to spend time in the boat to get to where You want me to go. The boat isn’t always a safe place.  Sometimes it isn’t fun, but arriving at my destination makes this part of the journey rewarding.  It is in the boat where I feel Your presence and the overflowing love You have for me.  Thank You for riding the waves with me and commanding them to be still when they have taught me the lessons You intended.  Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013)
p. 130

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

