Where was God when Joseph was in the Pit? (August 17, 2013)

Jeremiah 29:11-14 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.  I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes.  I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”


Joseph was a dreamer who lacked the wisdom to keep his dreams to himself.  Being the favorite son whose father treated him like royalty, Joseph was self-focused.  His brothers grew more and more jealous which was exacerbated by Joseph telling them his dreams about them bowing down before him.  It was more than they could take, so they began plotting his death.  Fortunately, God created a situation and circumstances whereby Joseph was sold into slavery and taken to Egypt.  Even though they meant to harm Joseph, God used it to save His people from the famine that was coming.

Where was God while Joseph was in the pit?  Where is God when you are in yours?  He was right there with Him.  Sometimes the pit is the only place where we can grow spiritually.  Joseph learned a lo while standing in the pit.  More than likely, he realized that he shouldn’t have shared his dreams with his brothers.  Just when he thought he was saved, he entered slavery in Egypt but was blessed to be Potiphar’s servant.  When he was imprisoned falsely due to accusations of Potiphar’s wife, God was there with him preparing him for the next step in his journey.  Joseph had to wait a long time before God released him, but in that time Joseph grew to be the man God created him to be.

“God may have you in your prison today because that prison is the only place you learn the skills, compassion, and incredible truths that will sustain you when He elevates you to a position of authority in your future.  Don’t waste your prison time pining over what shoulda, woulda, coulda been. Don’t exhaust your energy painting pictures of what might be.  Simply live in the present moment and anticipate the abundance of God’s promises as He appropriates them to you in this moment.”¹

[Read Exodus 11-20]

Exodus 14:31 When the people of Israel saw the mighty power that the Lord had unleashed against the Egyptians, they were filled with awe before him.  They put their faith in the Lord and in his servant Moses.”

Father God,
It is hard living in the pit, but sometimes it is a necessary part of our spiritual growth.  In my mean time in the pit, help me do what is necessary to learn those things that help me get out of the pit.  Help me live in the present moment feeling Your presence knowing that even in the deepest pit You are there preparing me for my future.  Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013)
pp.  103-104

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

