Abraham’s Meantime (August 14, 2013)

Genesis 12:1-3  The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.  I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you, I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.  I will blesss those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.

Abraham is one of the best examples of faith in action.  God called him to leave his native land to go to a land God would show him.  He promised to bless him with descendants and waited years to fulfill it.  In fact, God was silent for 13 years between the birth of Ishmael and the promise of Isaac.  God took Abraham on a journey of faith as He does us.  Abraham had faith in the meantime–the time between God’s promises and their fulfillment.

How do you respond to your meantime?  Do you listen to people who mock you or try to discourage you?  Do you fall prey to Satan’s heckling?

“Your mean time is sure to be infested with hecklers.  But no matter how much those voices of darkness heckle you, stand firm on the fact that it makes no sense at all for God not to keep His word to you.  If you are tempted to think that God has let you down–that in your particular situation He will prove unfaithful–I want you to stop right there and take it to the cross.  Why would God, who proved His love for you by sending His very own Son to die a cruel death on the cross, set you up to expect great things from Him just to let you down?”¹

[Read Genesis 31-40]

Genesis 39:21 But the Lord was with Joseph in the prison and showed him his faithful love. And the Lord made Joseph a favorite with the prison guard.

Father God,
The meantime between Your promise and its fulfillment can be frustrating.  Please fill my meantime with Your peace and assurance.  Help me tune out discouraging comments and remain faithful and obedient while I wait.  Allow me, like Joseph, to have favor with those who might seek to harm me while I am waiting for Your promise to be fulfilled.  Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013) p.62

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Hearing God's Voice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

