Wrestling With God (August 13, 2013)

Genesis 32:24-26 So Jacob was left alone, and a man wrestled with him till daybreak.  When the man saw that he could not overpower him, he touched the socket of Jacob’s hip so that his hip was wrenched as he wrestled with the man.  The man said, “Let me go, for it is daybreak.”  But Jacob replied, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”

After Jacob prayed, he did not immediately receive assurance that Esau wouldn’t harm him and everything would be okay.  His fear was not removed. No solution was offered.  But Jacob was obedient and kept going toward his brother.  He wrestled with God.  He encountered him in a personal and intimate way.  Even though Jacob was afraid of his brother, his fear didn’t stop him from taking on God.  What do you wrestle with God about?  If it’s worth the fight, don’t let go until God blesses you.

There are two ways we wrestle with God.  On way is to hold on, like Jacob, until He blesses you.  The other is to hold on to our own ideas, our own agendas, our rights and ambitions.  Remember, God always wins and, if we are holding on to selfish things, we will get hurt in the process.

Jacob wanted Esau to change, but in the process of wrestling with God, it was Jacob who changed.

“If you are living with disappointment, tragedy, or crisis–and those things seem to mock God’s promise to you–know that God is honored when we wrestle with Him.  God invites us to wrestle with Him today, most often through prayer.  Don’t be timid, don’t be afraid! Approach the throne of grace with confidence, pray with the authority of His powerful name, and hang on tight until He blesses you.”¹

[Read Genesis 21-30]

Genesis 28:15 What’s more, I am with you, and I will protect you wherever you go.  One day I will bring you back to this land.  I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.”

Father God,
Sometimes life brings more than I want to face on my own.  You are always nearby waiting for me to come to You.  You encourage me to wrestle with You over those things I do not understand.  You desire that intimacy that results during the wrestling match. Give me perseverance.  Don’t let me let go until I receive Your blessing. Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013) p.53

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Hearing God's Voice, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

