Jacob’s Story (August 12, 2013)

Genesis 32:9-12 Then Jacob prayed, “O God of my father Abraham, God of my father Isaac, O LORD, who said to me, ‘Go back to your country and your relatives, and I will make you prosper,’  I am unworthy of all the kindness and faithfulness you have shown your servant. I had only my staff when I crossed this Jordan, but now I have become two groups. Save me, I pray, from the hand of my brother Esau, for I am afraid he will come and attack me, and also the mothers with their children.  But you have said, ‘I will surely make you prosper and will make your descendants like the sand of the sea, which cannot be counted.’ “

The story of Jacob is a tale woven of lies and manipulation–first of Jacob’s, then Laban’s and back and forth until God finally allowed Jacob to return to his home. God had to put Jacob in the darkness to protect him from himself and Laban.  Jacob knew he had a purpose.  He just wasn’t sure how or when God would accomplish it.  Even though Jacob was a thief and a liar, God chose to share a covenant relationship with him. Even though he was greedy and selfish, God still chose to use him.  Does that surprise you?  When God chooses you for a particular task, do you try to tell Him who you are makes it difficult to do it?

Jacob knew who he was.  He also knew who God is.  He trusted in God’s promises, but that didn’t stop him from wondering when the fruit of those promises would ripen.

In the midst of his mess, Jacob prayed the prayer found in Genesis 32:9-12.  Use this prayer as a model when you are standing next to the ford in the Jabook:

  1. Remember who God is.
  2. Remind God of what He told you to do, and what He promised He would do for you when you obeyed Him.
  3. Acknowledge all of the things God has done already.
  4. Confess your fear.
  5. Profess your faith, and anchor your faith in the promise of God.

“When you use Jacob’s model fo prayer as your own, you will experience God’s direction and peace in the midst of your mess.”¹

[Read Genesis 11-20]

Genesis 12:1-3 The Lord had said to Abram, “Leave your native country, your relatives, and your father’s family, and go to the land that I will show you.  I will make you into a great nation.  I will bless you and make you famous, and you will be a blessing to others.  I will bless those who bless you and curse those who treat you with contempt.  All the families on earth will be blessed through you.”

Father God,
You have always been faithful to honor Your promises.  Thank You for Your faithfulness and love.  You have done so much for me and blessed me in many ways.  I am often afraid to step out in faith to do what You’ve asked me to do.  Help me lean on Your promises and put aside my fear.  I want to honor You by fulfilling all the things You’ve given me to do. Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013) p. 40

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Hearing God's Voice, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

