Hearing God’s Voice (August 11, 2013)

Exodus 20:21  Moses approached the thick darkness where God was.

You will not hear God’s voice if you don’t read the Bible because that is the primary method God uses to communicate.  Although I believe God can, I don’t think He often speaks to us audibly.  He uses His Word, His people, our circumstances, our praise and worship and sometimes through dreams and visions.  You must also approach God with an “attitude of gratitude”.

The book I have chosen for the next couple of weeks is “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” by Leighann McCoy. The purpose of her book is to guide us in how to approach God in those dark moments when we feel lost, alone and abandoned.  God will never forsake us even in our darkest moments, for it is in these bleak times that God is holding onto us for dear life–eternal life–wanting desperately for us to come to Him.

“Sometimes the circumstances of life create a thick darkness.  Because we tend to be afraid of what we cannot see, our natural response is to flee.  But God was in the darkness, and Moses wanted to hear His voice, he boldly approached the darkness.”¹

[Read Genesis 1-10]

Genesis 5:23-24 Enoch lived 365 years, walking in close fellowship with God. Then one day he disappeared, because God took him.

Father God,
I don’t like the dark moments in my life.  Normally, I flee from them.  If I must go through it, I grumble and complain and wish it would hurry up and be over.  But Moses eagerly sought the darkness so that he could find You.  When those dark days in my life, I choose to seek You and listen for Your voice.  In the meantime, I will meditate on Your Word and be aware of Your presence.  I will seek out opportunities moment by moment to hear Your voice. Amen.

¹Leighann McCoy, “A Woman’s Guide to Hearing God’s Voice” (Bloomington, Minnesota, Bethany House Publishers, 2013) p. 27.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice, Prayers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

