Intimacy With God (August 10, 2013)

1 Corinthians 13:12 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything in clarity.  All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

From the very moment God formed us in our mother’s womb, He knew us and loved us.  He know when we would take our first step and say our first word.  He knows when we will take our first breath and our last.  From the moment we are born, He begins to prepare us for our future.  We may have a difficult childhood or an easy one.  We may have wise parents or foolish ones. They may treat us well or treat us poorly.  But God can use our circumstances, good or bad, to grow us, shape us, redeem us if we will let Him.

Just as God knows us, we can know Him.  We may not understand His ways, but we can learn His character.  By spending time meditating on His Word, speaking with Him in prayer, and listening to Him, we can have an intimate, personal relationship with Him.

The most awesome privilege we have is sharing our heart’s desires with the Father.  Intimacy builds stability, security, spiritual understanding, sensitivity toward others and serenity.

“The better you know the Lord’s spotless character, the less you will ask for, because you have faith in His perfect plan and unfailing provision.  And the more you leave your circumstances in His hands and obey Him, the more He will give you.”¹

[Read Proverbs]

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
                             do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do.
and he will show you which path to take.

Father God,
I am grateful that You desire a relationship with me.  Thank You for the gift of Your Son, Jesus, who reconciled us through His death and resurrection.  Thank You for the daily privilege of walking with You.  I am so thankful that You teach me how to listen to You and enable me to do Your will.  I desire to know You better.  Strengthen and fill me through Your Spirit.  I long for a deeper relationship with You.  Teach me. Guide me. Lead me.  Speak to my heart.  I surrender my life to You.  I love You, Lord. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 271

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

