The Challenge of Waiting (August 9, 2013)

Psalm 37:4-7  Delight yourself in the Lord:
                          And he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord.
Trust also in Him, and he will do it.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light
And your judgment as the noonday.
Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for him;
Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way.
Because of the man who carries out wicked schemes.

Our dreams and desires, if they line up with God’s will, are important to God.  Many times He has placed them in your heart.  He uses these dreams and desires to motivate you to seek Him.  Oftentimes, He makes us wait longer than we would like.  Sometimes it’s about the preparation.  Other times we may never know the specific reasons.

If you want to know if what you desire is from God, seek His guidance, search His Word, and trust Him to give you the answers.  If what you want to do will hinder your relationship with God, it didn’t come from Him.

While you wait, meditate on Psalm 37.   In verses 4-7, God tells us what we can do in the meantime:  delight ourselves in Him (seek Him with perseverance and confidence), commit our ways to Him and rest in Him and wait patiently without complaining or grumbling.

“No matter what obstacles there are to your heart’s desire, do not give up hope. Regardless of how long you must wait, keep trusting and obeying the Lord with perseverance and confidence.  If your dream is from the Father, you can be certain He will bring it to pass.”¹

[Read Psalms 136-150]

Psalm 139:23-24 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
                                  test me and know my anxious thoughts.
Point out anything in me that offends you,
and lead me along the path of
everlasting life.

Father God,
I am grateful for your great love for me.  Please give me the wisdom to discern Your plan and purpose for my life.  When my desire is a hindrance to my relationship with You, please reveal it so I can repent.  Please reveal Your hopes and dreams to my waiting heart.  Give me the confidence to persevere in faith, regardless of the obstacles and challenges that arise.  Show me how to delight in You, commit to Your will, rest in Your ways, and wait for Your perfect timing.  Thank You for Your awesome plans for my life.  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 263

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Challenge of Waiting (August 9, 2013)

  1. Gail Meek says:

    Excellent as always. I think we know your calling…..

Leave a Reply

