Overcoming Obstacles (August 7, 2013)

2 Corinthians 12:7b-9 So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud.  Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away.  Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.

Trouble and adversity are a by-product of living in the world.  Although Believers are not immune to the world’s troubles, we have the privilege of seeking the One who can help us.  No matter what obstacle you are facing, you don’ t have to face it alone.  God is concerned about you and is interested in your problems no matter how big or small.  If it matters to you, it matters to God.  He is greater than your problems no matter how insurmountable they appear to you.  What looks like a mountain to you is a molehill to God.  Seek God’s help before telling your problems to others.  Too many voices will crowd out God’s wisdom.  God always has the best answer.  If you remain focused on Him, you will discover it.

If you are fighting a battle, here are some things to remember:

  1.  Increase your time alone with God.  Don’t allow the distraction of your problem to take you away from God.
  2. Listen quietly for God’s voice and expect Him to speak.
  3. If God reveals a sin in your life, repent immediately and take necessary steps not to repeat it.
  4. Remember that God is the only General in the battle.  God will fight for you and will be victorious.  You just need to stay out of the way, trust Him and let Him have control.
  5. Sin is your enemy–not people.  God will help us and redeem them.  Don’t act like an unbeliever towards those who do you harm.  Try to lead them to Christ.
  6. Understand that things will change.   You are not going to get “stuck” in the moment.  It may last longer than you want, but it will pass.
  7. All adversity comes from God to draw us closer to Him.¹

“Through our trials, He draws us closer to Him, conforms us to the character of Christ, prepares us for ministry, reveals our sin, and strengthens our faith.  Understanding this truth protects us from bitterness, resentment, and hostility toward those who wrong us.  It also prevents us from becoming disheartened when trials assail us.”²

[Read Psalm 119]

Psalm 119:122-123  Please guarantee a blessing for me.
                                        Don’t let the arrogant oppress me!
                                     My eyes strain to see your rescue,
                                         to see the truth of your promise fulfilled.

Father God,
How grateful I am for your indescribable love.  There is no Defender, Warrior, or King like You, in heaven or on earth.  No matter what trial or obstacle I face, You are always triumphant.  May my problems and obstacles always drive me to You.  May I know the wonderful blessing of being able to fight my battles on my knees in prayer and with complete dependence on You.  Thank You for always being available to me.  Help me to wait on Your perfect timing, trust You ever step of the way and be willing to obey You.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) pp. 198-213

²Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 213

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

