How God Uses Silence (August 6, 2013)

Psalm 27:13-14 Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living.  Wait patiently for the Lord.  Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently, for the Lord.

Sometimes God is silent even when we pray and read His Word.  These times may become discouraging, but there are reasons for God’s silence that should encourage us.  God uses silence to get our attention when we get caught up in ourselves and the busyness of life.  He uses silence to prepare us to be obedient and acknowledge that His way is the best way.  He uses silence to make us aware of sin in our life and to help us trust Him completely.  He is training us to hear His voice and teaching us perseverance.

There are five steps to take when God is silent:

  1. Ask why.  Do you need to confess a sin or step out in obedience?
  2. Remember God is active–always accomplishing great things.
  3. Recall His faithfulness.  God will never let you down.
  4. Be honest about how you feel.
  5. Commit to your quiet time and don’t give up.

“Whether you hear His voice or not, read the Bible, tell the Father you are available to listen, and wait silently for Him to speak.  Make it a consistent habit that takes priority in your life.  Eventually, you will have a breakthrough and will hear God more clearly and powerfully than you ever thought possible.”¹

[Read Psalms 106-118]

Psalm 117:1-2     Praise the Lord, all you nations.
Praise Him, all you people of the earth.
For he loves us with unfailing love,
the Lord’s faithfulness endures forever.
Praise the Lord!

Father God,
How grateful I am for You, even when You are silent.  I know that You are accomplishing great things in my life through times of quietness. Thank You for the peace and joy that come from knowing You will never forsake me.
I pray that the Holy Spirit will encourage my heart.  I long to be in conversation with You.  Teach me what You want me to learn from Your silence.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 187

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

