The Holy Spirit–Our Ambassador (August 5, 2013)

John 14:26 But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative–that is, the Holy Spirit–he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you.

Do you sometimes feel a tugging on your heart, or have  a “sense” about a place or activity?  The Holy Spirit communicates with us by speaking into our heart in a way that we understand in order to guide us to truth and obedience.  As the third member of the Trinity, He helps us understand Scripture and empowers us to resist sin and obey God.  The key is to respond immediately to what He tells us to do remembering that He will not tell us to do anything that contradicts God’s Word.

Through the gift of the Holy Spirit, we can have an intimate relationship with the Father.

“To walk in the Spirit means obeying His initial promptings.–Submitting to Him as you feel Him pulling you in a certain direction.”¹

“If you yield to the Holy Spirit and depend on His ability rather than your own, He will enable you not only to live a life that is pleasing to Christ but also to experience God in ways you never thought possible.”²

[Read Psalms 91-105]

Psalm 97:11 Light shines on the godly,
                         and joy on those whose hearts are 
                               right.

Father God,
Allow me to experience the transformational work of the Holy Spirit in a radical way.  I desire Your best, Lord, so don’t let me ignore Your warnings or admonishments.  Help me respond to You in obedience.  Thank You for the gift and privilege of Your presence. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 165

²Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 169

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

