Christ’s Example of Intimacy (August 3, 2013)

Mark 1:35 Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.

Because Jesus was fully God, He shows us how to communicate with God respectfully and in a way that honors and brings Him glory.  Because He is also fully man, Jesus understands our needs and shows us how to pray in a way that meets our needs and comforts us.  He shows us how to enter God’s presence and interact with Him in a meaningful way.

God desires our undivided attention.  He wants us to be completely focused on Him choosing Him above all the concerns and activities going on in our lives.  He also understands our need to be heard, our need to be forgiven, and our hearts and souls renewed and encouraged.

God loves us unconditionally.  He doesn’t require a specific task or a rote prayer to enter into His presence.  He just wants us to come to Him and express our deepest thoughts, needs and desires with a humble, repentant heart.

“Consistent, deliberate time alone with God in prayer is not an option in the Christian life.  Nothing takes priority over it, nothing accomplishes more than it, and there is no way to have a real and meaningful relationship with God without it.”¹

[Read Psalms 61-75]

Psalm 65:5 You faithfully answer our prayers with
                             awesome deeds.
O God our Savior,
You are the hope of everyone on earth,
even those who sail in distant seas.

Father God,
I am grateful for Your Son, Jesus, who taught me how to live and pray by His example.  Lord God, set aside time for me to be alone with You when I can be free from all distractions of life and worship You.  Help me to always come before You with a willing and open heart, in humility, sincerity and obedience.  Remove all barriers that keep me from knowing You and experiencing intimacy with You.  Thank You for setting me free and redeeming me from the bondage of sin.  Thank You for hearing my prayers.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) pp. 119-120

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

