The Sound of God’s Voice (August 2, 2013)

Jeremiah 7:23 The Lord says, “Obey my voice, and I will be your God, and you will be my people; and you will walk in all the way which I command you, that it may be well with you.”

In order to know what God wants us to do, we must listen to Him.  If we are going to recognize His voice when He speaks, we have to spend time with Him in His Word, in prayer and by expectantly pursuing Him.  We must be intentional and committed to being obedient to what He asks us to do.  God doesn’t make demands of us.  When He gives a command or tells us His will, He always gives us a choice.  The consequences–whether we receive a blessing out of our obedience or discipline because of our disobedience–is our choice.

The Bible is the first and best place to seek God’s voice.  To make the most of your time in the Word, try these five things:

  1. Meditate on the Word
  2. Anticipate that the Lord will meet you in a personal way.
  3. Pray that the Lord will show you how to apply it.
  4. Be prepared to obey whatever the Lord tells you to do.
  5. Be willing to wait.¹

We can also hear God’s voice through praise and worship, the godly counsel of others, our circumstances, the conviction of the Holy Spirit through our conscience, a feeling of anticipation, etc.

“God can and will speak to you in a number of ways.  When you know what He wants you to do, don’t allow anything to keep you from following His call.  Your own plans cannot compare with the good things the Lord has in store for you.  Your wisest course of action is always to submit yourself to His will and trust Him to help you.”²

[Read Psalms 46-60]

Psalm 50:23 “But giving me thanks is a sacrifice that truly
honors me.
If you keep to my path,
I will reveal to you the salvation of God.”

Father God,
Thank You for being my Good Shepherd who speaks to me in so many ways.  It is a privilege to know You, Lord.  Thank You for communicating with me and for giving me Your Word so I can learn to hear Your voice.  I desire to hear Your call and walk in agreement with You.  Draw me into an intimate relationship with You, teaching me how to connect with You in deeper, more meaningful ways.  Give me a spirit of anticipation and expectancy whenever I approach Your throne of grace. Help me be open, yielded and available for whatever You desire to do.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) pp. 82-86

²Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 94

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

