Our Perception of God (July 31, 2013)

Nehemiah 1:5, 11 Then I said, “O Lord, God of heaven, the great and awesome God who keeps his covenant of unfailing love with those who love him and obey his commands…O Lord, please heart my prayer! Listen to the prayers of those of us who delight in honoring you.  Please grant me success today by making the king favorable to me.  Put it into his heart to be kind to me.”

The first step to prayer is knowing to whom you are praying.  Do you realize God’s power and truly believe that He can and will answer your prayer, or do you feel like you are talking to yourself?  We have heard many times that there is power in prayer; however, it is important to understand the power comes from God not prayer itself.

How you view the God you are praying to affects your prayer life and your relationship with God.  If you pray according to your own limitations, you will always question God’s ability and/or willingness to help you.

Truths about God’s Character:

  • He never changes.  The same powerful God who answered prayer dramatically during biblical times does the same today.
  • He keeps His promises.  He is faithful.
  • He loves you unconditionally.  His love is based on Jesus’ death on the cross not on anything we do.

How you view God will affect your attitude in prayer, what you pray about and what you think the outcome will be.

“Are you going before the Lord to know and worship Him?  Or do you list all the things you would like Him to do? Are you seeking His will because you know His ways are best? Or do you bring Him your plans, hoping He’ll bless them?  Are your prayers self-centered or God-centered?

If you’re consistently focused on yourself during times with the Lord, then your attention is misplaced.  You are missing out on one of the greatest blessings a soul can experience–the love and power of being in His awesome presence.”¹

[Read Psalms 16-30]

Psalm 29:2 Honor the Lord for the glory of his name.
Worship the Lord in the splendor of his holiness

Father God,
Thank You for making yourself available to me and allowing me to know You personally and to pray to You.  It is a wonderful privilege to be able to talk with You.  I honor You as the Great I AM.  I praise You, the great and awesome God, who keeps His promises to those He loves and who obey Him.  Thank You for hearing my prayers today.  As I seek to know You better, I pray that You will remove all encumbrances that remain in my life.  May I truly understand who You are and enjoy time in Your presence fully.  May I honor and glorify You today and every day.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

¹Charles F. Stanley, “The Ultimate Conversation” (New York, NY, Howard Books, 2012) p. 23

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

