The Belt of Truth: Ephesians 5:8-6:9 (July 28, 2013)

Ephesians 5:15-17 Be very careful, then, how you live–not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity because the days are evil.  Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.

God reveals what is right and good in His Word.  Satan uses lies to confuse us and get us to make choices based on our feelings and desires which ultimately lead to regret.  Putting on the belt of truth will give us the support we need against the forces of evil.

The Roman Legionnaire girded himself with a sturdy, tightly wrapped leather girdle that covered his ribs and loins.  The belt of truth is applying God’s Word to our life everywhere we go and especially at home.

“If we are to protect ourselves from Satan’s schemes and the demons who carry them out, we need to be sure we are living out God’s Word at home.  At home, where everything we say and do has the potential to build those we love up or to tear them down.”¹

[Read Ephesians]

Ephesians 6:14 Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness.

Father God,
As I prepare myself each morning for the day ahead, remind me to put on the belt of truth first.  I want to apply Your Word to my life at home and out in the world.  Let the Holy Spirit nudge me as soon as I forget.  Amen.

¹Larry Richards, “The Full Armor of God” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Chosen Books) pp. 122-123

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Armor of God, Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Belt of Truth: Ephesians 5:8-6:9 (July 28, 2013)

  1. Loretta says:

    Thank Jill for all you hard work and the study of the Armor of God. I love reading about this over and over again.

Leave a Reply

