The Shield of Faith Ephesians 2:1-10 (July 25, 2013)

Ephesians 2:4-7 But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much, that even though we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead. (It is only by God’s grace that you have been saved!) For he raised us from the dead along with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ Jesus. So God can point to us in all future ages as examples of the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done for us who are united with Christ Jesus.

The Roman Legionnaire’s shield was 2 1/2 feet wide and 4 feet long and was made of glued planks of wood covered with canvas and calfskin.  It had a metal rim around the upper and lower edges and an iron boss in the middle.  The purpose of the shield was to protect the legionnaire from the fiery darts (called plumbata) of the enemy.  The legion kept tight ranks and held their shield over their head forming a roof that extinguished the darts.

Satan’s darts are those circumstances in our lives that are stressful causing fear and uncertainty.  They cause us to worry and be indecisive.

In Ephesians 2, Paul wants us to realize our salvation is the work of God alone.  We did nothing.  We are to depend on God completely.

“…the shield that extinguishes Satan’s flaming arrows is not the strength or the measure of your faith, your trust in the Lord.  The shield is and always has been the faithfulness of God as that faithfulness is revealed in a salvation rooted in God’s grace and love.”¹

Satan throws his fiery darts in order to force us off God’s path hoping we will go off on our own and taking our focus away from God.  Taking up the shield of faith means focusing on God knowing that God will never stop loving us no matter what we do.

[Read Ephesians]

Ephesians 6:16 In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil.

Father God,
Assure me of Your love today.  I know Satan wants me to believe you are fickle–removing your love when I disappoint You or forsaking me when I am struggling.  I know these are the times You are beside me walking me through it.  Remind me to use my shield of faith to repel Satan’s darts from my mind and heart. Amen.

¹Larry Richards, “The Full Armor of God” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Chosen Books) p. 60

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Armor of God, Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

