The Helmet of Salvation Ephesians 1:1-23 (July 24, 2013)

Ephesians 1:3-6 All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ.  Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.  God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ.  This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.  So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son.

God chose us.  He designed us.  He created us.  He wants to have a relationship with us.  Because God loves us so much, Satan hates us and seeks to destroy us.  HE uses lies and guile to try to convince us that we are unworthy of God’s love and that we will never please God no matter what we do.

The helmet is the last piece of armor the Roman Legionnaire put on.  The Roman helmet protected the head from attacks of the enemy.  Without the Helmet of Salvation, we will be unprotected from the cares of the world and the worries and problems produced by the world would overwhelm us.  To keep our helmet secure, we must remember that our salvation comes from God and He is on our side.

“…salvation provides a unique perspective on who we are.  When we understand what God has done to provide salvation, we begin to grasp how truly significant we are and how much we are loved.  We begin to see ourselves as truly special.”¹

The last thing Satan wants is for us to realize how special we are to God.

To put on the Helmet of Salvation, first we must confess that we have believed Satan’s lies and acknowledge God’s forgiveness received when Christ died on the cross.  Next, we must reject Satan’s lies that we are worthless and will never be good enough to receive God’s love and believe God’s promise of salvation.  Finally, we must declare that we are a child of God and that we will no longer listen to Satan’s lies.

“To strengthen our resolve, we can do the following:

  1. Read Ephesians 1 regularly, and let the truth of who you are in Christ fill your heart and mind.
  2. Memorize [Scripture]…
  3. Ask the Holy Spirit to expose more of Satan’s lies and reveal the truth about you.”²

[Read Ephesians]

Ephesians 6:17 Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the spirit, which is the Word of God.

Father God,
I confess that I have believed Satan’s lies that I am unworthy of Your love and my salvation.  I confess that I have felt that my unworthiness was a  reason to stop trying to do what You have created me to do.  Today, I am rejecting Satan’s lies and acknowledging Your forgiveness that comes through the sacrifice of Jesus with His death on the cross.  I declare that I am a child of God, having been adopted into Your family.  I will no longer listen to Satan’s lies.  I am worthy and special to You.  Amen.

¹Larry Richards, “The Full Armor of God” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Chosen Books) p. 35

²Larry Richards, “The Full Armor of God” (Grand  Rapids, Michigan, Chosen Books) pp. 45-45

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Armor of God, Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment