The Power of Biblical Friendships (July 22, 2013)

Proverbs 17:17 A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Lasting change can’t be accomplished alone.  You must surround yourself with biblical friends–friends who will hold you up when you stumble and hold you down when you stray.
There are five ways friends can hold you up:

  1. Being present
  2. Praying with and for you
  3. Protecting you
  4. Confirming their loyalty
  5. Confirming their friendship¹

A friend holds you down by restraining you and rebuking you, if necessary.

“Love is what we need in friendship when we stumble, and truth is what we need when we stray.”²

CHANGE THAT LASTS

If you desire true transformation, it takes more than just saying you want to change.  It takes hard work and commitment.  It means accepting the truth of sin and removing it piece by piece.  That’s not always easy, but it’s always worth it.  It means taking pride out of the equation and putting on humility.  It means admitting you are wrong and God is right.

Father God,
Thank You for teaching me all You’ve been teaching me.  Thank You for how You’ve been changing me.  I desire Your deepest work of transformation.  Don’t let me give up.  I ask that Your transforming power be at work in my mind and heart to me more like Jesus for the rest of my life on earth.  Help me to be real, honest and transparent with others.  Help me find and develop biblical friendships that will hold me up when I stumble and hold me down when I start to stray.  Give me courage and faith as I live out these truths and share them with those I love. Amen.

[Read Titus 1-3, Philemon]

Titus 3:4-5 But–“When God our Savior revealed his kindness and love, he saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit.”

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev. ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 204-207

²James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev. ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 210

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

